Self-respect: What does it mean?

Self-respect.
The fact that this idea is mostly linked to sex, already implies it’s a social construct.
It’s made up by society. Period.
Self-respect: I keep having trouble with the definition.
The Internet spreads dubious definitions all over the place.
This seemed a suitable description:

“The person with self-respect simply likes her- or himself. This self-respect is not contingent on success because there are always failures to contend with. Neither is it a result of comparing ourselves with others because there is always someone better. These are tactics usually employed to increase self-esteem. Self-respect, however, is a given. We simply like ourselves or we don’t. With self-respect, we like ourselves because of who we are and not because of what we can or cannot do.”*

This one is quite similar.
“Self respect is not about what we do, but who we are. It is about being able to stand tall and feel proud of and for ourselves just because we exist. It is about loving ourselves for ourselves – just because we are.  The person with self-respect simply likes her- or himself. This self-respect is not based on success because there are always failures to contend with. Neither is it a result of comparing ourselves with others because there is always someone better. These are tactics usually employed to increase self-esteem. Self-respect, however, is a given. We simply like ourselves or we don’t.”**

Wait…….
Is self-respect about liking ourselves?
So, it’s NOT a social construct then?
Well, then I suppose the notion of self-respect is used to effectively tear people down. Even though it wasn’t meant to.
To be frank, I like myself.
I never disliked myself, even not during my depression.
Odd, isn’t it?
My depression came from not being able to address my pains and problems, not because I disliked myself.
And my other ventures happened because one, I was curious, or two, because I wanted to find an activity to focus myself on, and to escape from ‘the cruel, misunderstanding world.’
f.ex. My cutting problem started from the moment I tried it, just to observe how it feels. But difficult times had yet to come, so then, my cutting turned into an act of escapism. But never a thought of not liking myself came to mind.

Plus, if self-respect is not based on the things we do, but on who we are, why all the bragging about self-respect in relation to sex/sex work?
One has it, or one hasn’t.
People have been trying to implant to wrong idea of self-respect on me.
They’ve always said to me self-respect is how you behave, and about the things you do.
Also, self-respect is also more often used when talking to/about women, than it is used to men. Never noticed that? Most of the time associated with sexuality.
One is more likely to say from a girl/woman she has no self-respect, when she does something inappropriate, while a boy/man is seen as a naughty/bad individual.

This post actually isn’t finished yet. But again, I’d love to have some interaction with you.
I’m curious about your stance.

Leave a Reply

